Michael Sogbetun

Our Alumni in 2008

Our Alumni in 2008

Artists we’ve worked with

Anisa Al-Khatib (Parachute), Rhym Amich (BS), Aswad, Bob Beagrie (Darlington Young mums), Lisa Cat-Berro (BS), Andy Comley (Lifecycle), Huw Cross (Lifecycle), David Dano (BS), Maurice Dezou (WF), Bodjo Michee Dibo (BS), DJPB (WF), DME (WF), Louise Drennan, Joe Dunne (st hild’s, Oakdene, Rose Wood, Skelton Church, Abingdon Road Environ, Kilton Thorpe), Yacouba Fofana (BS), Catherine Geldard (Skirl) (Sage event), Vicky Holbrough (Green Feb, Junction Farm Primary School 3D project, Gallery TS1), Hotsteppers (WF), Kev Howard (WF, High Tunstall, St Hild’s, stART), Paul Knox (Skirl) (Sage CP4P event), Matthew Price (Skirl) (Sage event), Heroes Fall First (WF), Grandma’s House (WF), Gregory Isaacs (Worldfest), Jefferson Design Ltd (CP4P event), Glynis Johnson (Layfield Primary Ceramics (paid via Derek Mosey), Kanda Bongo Man (WF), Kasai Masai (WF), Live Wyya (WorldFest), Malaika Lokua (BS), Jocelyn Mienniel (BS), Gassan Mohammed (Parachute – Nawroz Community; Gallery TS1), Derek Mosey (Layfield Primary Mosaic, Skinningrove Flood Defence; Willow sculpture Westlands School), Adrian Moule (Gallery TS1, CPD – Thorntree Primary School; Evolve – High Tunstall, Parachute; University of Teesside Happiness Conference; CPD – St Aidan’s, Lytton Street Railings, stART), Thomas Naim (BS), Robert Page-Tubbyphunk (CP4P photographer), Nicola Parkin (Parachute), Serena Partridge (St Benedict’s), John Pendleton – Culturall Diverse Festival Network), Pig Pen (WorldFest), Yvonne Preston (Green Feb), Proportion (CP4P, WF, TVA), Amy Readman (Gallery TS1), Scruff Productions (Darlington LAC animation), Leslie Simpson (Evolve – High Tunstall, Evolve – St Hild’s), Bailly Simon (Beta Simon – WF), Derek Smith (Parachute, Drum n Voice, WF), Michael Sogbetun (Parachute), Cathie Sprague (IMPACT), Tees Valley Dance (Parachute), Kim Thomson (Gallery TS1), Mark Warner (editing animations – High Tunstall), Jeremy Warr (CPD – St Aidan’s), Paul White Photography (Coastal Arc), Andy Willoughby (Darlington Young mums), Elizabeth Whyman (Parachute), Muctaru Wurie (BS), XTN (WF)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Our Alumni in 2010

Our Alumni in 2010

Artists we’ve worked with

Adeel Saeed Chishti, David Allinson, Artrium, Band-x, Bob Beagrie, Paul Belcher, Dennis Bovell Dub Band, Dennis Bovell International Orchestra, Tony Charles, Jo Colley, CoMusica, Maurice Dezou, Paul Dolan, Lindsay Duncanson, Joe Dunne, Durham County Youth Big Band, Papa Essel, Flava, Marek Gabrysch, Rachel Gretton, Vicky Holbrough, Kev Howard, Francesca Hudson, Bidi Iredale, Richard Kay, Love Revolution, Andrew McCall-Smith, Steve McCormick, Misty in Roots, Bob Mitchell (Profile Gallery), MusicMix, Adrian Moule, Gabriel Mulangu, Dina Murphy, Nickens from Kasai Masai (film night), Yussef Nimer, Shelley O’Brien (Michelle Parker), Ian Paine, Nicola Parkin, Pig pen, Lyndsey Roe, Phil Roxby, Irene Ryan, Salam UK, Ruth Scott, Holly Shahverdi, Sidibe, Michael Sogbetun, Rowena Sommerville, Frank Styles, T3C, Top Boy Family, Michelle Tripp, Mike Turnbull, Pablo U-wa, Shirley Wells, Andy Willoughby

Board Members

Gordon Bates, Trustee
Served: From * to 7 October 2009 (by letter)

Rom Stanko, Trustee
Served: From 21st April 2005 to 5th May 2009 (by letter)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Parachute Projects

Young People Celebrate Artwork at mima

Risky Biz Year 1 Cohort 2

Young People working with Barnardo’s and Tees Valley Arts will be celebrating achieving their Bronze Arts Awards at a special exhibition of their work at Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art on Thursday 1st December 2011. Family, friends and invited guests will be able to see the excellent artwork the group have created, as well as seeing them receive their Arts Award certificates.

Since August the young people have been working with artists Nicola Parkin, Shirley Wells, Laura Degnan and Michael Sogbetun to design and create their own visual artwork, creative writing and a dance film, building portfolios for the Bronze Arts Award, which is a Level 1 qualification. Across the weeks, they used and developed skills in a wide-range of arts techniques, such as silk painting, freestyle stitching, concrete poems, haiku and dance movements.

The project is a partnership between Tees Valley Arts and Barnardo’s, and is funded by Comic Relief.

Tees Valley Arts Education Officer, Jane Gray said: “The young people have achieved a great deal throughout this project – not just great artwork, but confidence and self-esteem, teamwork, leadership, communication skills and personal development. We’re all extremely proud of their achievements and it will be fantastic to see their work exhibited within a professional arts venue.”

Filed under: News, Projects, Risky BizTagged with: , , , , , , , , ,